A few questions about DGM directed and undirected edges

Semantic Image Segmentation with Conditional Random Fields
Yu Liu

A few questions about DGM directed and undirected edges

Postby Yu Liu » Sat Sep 16, 2017, 14:56

Hi,
I'm studying CRFs recently, and I've read some codes of implementations of general CRFs such as CRF(Java), Mallet, CRFSuite. I found DGM is best for me, which is quite clearly in coding.
During studying the DGM source codes, I come across some questions:

1. When adding/setting arcs in building a graph, why the edge potential is square rooted?
    (#186 and #196 in ./modules/DGM/Graph.cpp)
  2. In message passing algorithms, why the new msg is double multiplied by edge potential?
    (#80 in ./modules/DGM/MessagePassing.cpp)
I tried to search for clues that may help answering the questions, but found nothing. I hope you may give me some hints, and thank you.

Creator

Re: A few questions about DGM directed and undirected edges

Postby Creator » Wed Sep 20, 2017, 22:49

Thank you for interest to the DGM library.

Here are the answers to your questions:
  1. The arc is the undirected edge in CRFs models. The DGM library emulates every undirected arc with two opposite-directed directed edges. Thus A -- B is represented with A -> B and A <- B. In the exact decoding, the potentials of every combination P(A, B) are calculated by multiplying node and edge potentials (please ref. to Demo 1D for more details). Thus, when we have 2 edges, representing 1 arc, the potentials will be multiplied 2 times, instead of 1. That is the reason, why we extract the square root of the arc potential in addArc() and setArc() functions, but leave the edge potential unchanged in addEdge() and setEdge() functions. This allows the usage of both arcs and edges in the same model (like A -- B <- C)